Deciding Tax Cases in an International Court


Deciding Tax Cases in an International Court

In today’s rapidly changing era of taxation post-BEPS, this panel addresses the judicial approach to deciding tax cases in an international context. It will commence with an expert presentation from Dr Péter Darák, President of the Curia, the supreme judicial authority of Hungary, on deciding tax cases in the international and European tax context, in a civil law jurisdiction. A panel of experts will provide comments from an Australian perspective including on recent cases, and the Chair will facilitate a panel discussion and questions from the floor. Topics include different approaches to statutory and tax treaty interpretation in the new international tax era; tax incentives and state aid in Europe; and interpretation of specific and general anti-abuse rules.

This event will be held in the Federal Court in Melbourne and can be viewed by Livestream in other states.

Court Locations and Times

Tuesday 13th March, Federal Court of Australia

Melbourne 5.00pm - 6.30pm: Court 8A

Sydney 5.00pm - 6.30pm: Court 18A

Canberra 5.00pm - 6.30pm: Court 1

Hobart 5.00pm - 6.30pm: Court 1

Adelaide 4.30pmpm - 6.00pm: Court 3

Brisbane 4.00pm - 5.30pm: Court 2

Darwin 3.30pm -5.00pm: Court 9

Perth 2.00pm - 3.30pm: Court 4


  • Dr Peter Darak
    Dr Peter Darak, President of the Curia of Hungary
  • Justice Jennifer Davies
    Justice Jennifer Davies, Federal Court of Australia
  • Mr Jeremy Geale
  • Mr Andrew Broadfoot QC
    Mr Andrew Broadfoot QC, Victorian Bar
  • Professor Miranda Stewart
    Professor Miranda Stewart, Melbourne Law School