Corporations and Securities Law

The cutting-edge nature of the subjects in the Corporations and Securities Law program, as well as the wide range of subjects and the experience and expertise of the lecturers from around the globe, equip students to understand both national and international developments in these areas.

Melbourne Law School has considerable expertise in corporate law, having established the Centre for Corporate Law and Securities Regulation in 1996. The specialisation in corporations and securities law recognises the importance of corporate law and securities regulation nationally and internationally. The program is ideal for lawyers and other professionals engaged in securities regulation and issues relating to corporate law. The broad range of subjects available in this field enables students to tailor the course to directly influence their career goals.

Corporations and Securities Law study options

Advisory Board

  • The Hon Mr Kenneth Hayne AC QC, Formerly a Justice of the High Court of Australia (Chair)
  • Ms Elspeth Arnold, Ashurst Australia
  • Professor Bob Baxt AO, Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Mr Jeremy Blackshaw, Minter Ellison
  • Ms Priscilla Bryans, Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Mr Mark Burger, DLA Piper Australia
  • Mr Michael Hoyle, Macquarie Bank Ltd
  • Mr Rodd Levy, Herbert Smith Freehills
  • Mr Simon Morris, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
  • Mr Joseph Muraca, King & Wood Mallesons
  • Ms Diana Nicholson, King & Wood Mallesons
  • Ms Wendy Rae, Allens
  • Mr Shane Tregillis, Financial Ombudsman Service
  • Mr Andrew Walker, Clayton Utz
  • Ms Catherine Walter, Company Director
  • The Hon Chief Justice Marilyn Warren AC, Supreme Court of Victoria
  • Mr Jon Webster, Allens

International Advisory Board

  • Professor Theodor Baums, JW Goethe University, Frankfurt, Germany
  • Professor Brian Cheffins, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Professor John Coffee, Columbia University, United States
  • Professor Ronald Daniels, Johns Hopkins University, United States
  • Professor Deborah DeMott, Duke University, United States
  • Professor Say Goo, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Professor Hideki Kanda, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Associate Professor CK Low, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Professor Jennifer Payne, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Professor Roberta Romano, Yale Law School, United States
  • The Hon E Norman Veasey, Formerly Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Delaware, United States
  • Professor Susan Watson, University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • Professor Eddy Wymeersch, University of Ghent, Belgium

Have a question? Submit an enquiry