

MINUTES OF THE TWENTY-SECOND ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE AUSTRALIAN LABOUR LAW ASSOCIATION

Held at **2:15pm, Saturday 12 November 2022 (AEDT)**, Crowne Plaza Hotel, Coogee Beach.

Anthony Forsyth, President of the Association, chaired the meeting.

The following members were in attendance: Dominique Allen, Larissa Andelman, Renee Burns, Gordon Anderson, Adam Dzieciol, Nicholas Ellery, Emma Goodwin, Peter Gray, Tess Hardy, Steve Heathcote, Leigh Johns, Richard Johnstone, Sunil Kemppi, Shae McCrystal, Bruce Moore, Marius Olivier, Hannah Pelka-Caven, Mark Perica, Marilyn Pittard, Karen Prior, Peter Punch, Mark Rinaldi, Vince Rogers, Arlene Sale, Jonathan Sale, Janine Smith, Graham Smith, Daniel Tracey, Kate Walawski, Virginia Wills, and Dianne Yali. Jane Douglas attended as an observer.

Apologies were received from Allison Ballard, Josh Bornstein, Courtney Dixon, Adam Foster, Ben French, Gabrielle Golding, John Howe, Robert Laird, Shay Minster, Matt Nichol, Andrew Stewart, and Evan Willis

Anthony welcomed attendees to the 2022 AGM.

ORDINARY BUSINESS

1. Confirmation of the minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting

The minutes of the 21st Annual General Meeting held Held at 5.00pm, Thursday 18 November 2021 (AEDT), held via zoom video conferencing, were circulated prior to the 2022 AGM.

Resolution: That the minutes of the 2021 AGM be accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Dianne Yali Seconded: Tess Hardy

<u>Carried</u>



Secretary's Report on the Association's Activities

A written report was provided by the Secretary and Public Officer, Dominique Allen and distributed ahead of the AGM.

Dominique thanked everyone for attending the 2022 conference, noting the inperson conference had been a long time coming and it was great to be able to gather together. Thanks were extended to the conference committee, comprised of: Professor Anthony Forsyth, Associate Professor Dominique Allen, Janine Smith, Professor Marilyn Pittard, Professor Joellen Riley Munton, Graham Smith, Emma Goodwin, Larissa Adelman and David Chin SC, for all their work in making the conference run smoothly. Dominique thanked ALLA Administrator, Renee Burns for her support behind the scenes.

The next conference will be held in 2024, the location of which is yet to be decided. Dominique asked that any member interested in playing a key role organising the 2024 conference in their home state make contact with the National Committee to discuss.

ALLA hosted 7 seminars in the 12 months to 30 June 2022. These included events exploring recent High Court decisions and international speakers. Online events attracted up to 90 attendees, many of whom have become ALLA members. Dominique noted the *Secure Jobs, Better Pay Bill* and the post Covid landscape offered much to discuss in the new year.

Dominique noted that the ALLA ECR network was coordinated by Gabrielle Golding until December 2021. In her role as ECR Coordinator, Gabrielle hosted a number of successful seminars. Angelo Capuano took over the role in January 2022. ALLA looks forward to a program of ECR events in 2023.

At 30 June 2022 ALLA's financial membership was 437, with 84 memberships pending renewal.

Dominique thanked the ALLA National Committee for their time and commitment during the year, and Renee for her work supporting ALLA, including efforts 'above and beyond' in administering the conference.



Anthony echoed Dominique's appreciation for the work of the National Committee and ALLA Administrator and extended his thanks to Dominique for her time and effort as ALLA Secretary.

Resolution: That the Secretary's report as written be accepted as a true and accurate account of the Association's activities during and to the end of the financial year ending 30 June 2022.

Moved: Nicholas Ellery Seconded: Peter Gray

<u>Carried</u>

2. Financial Report

The Treasurer, Emma Goodwin, tabled the accounts for the 2021-2022 financial year, as required by s 94 of the *Associations Incorporation Reform Act 2012* (Vic). The written report was circulated to members by email prior to the meeting.

Peter Gray noted the Agenda incorrectly referred to section 30(3) of the *Associations Incorporation Act 1981* (VIC). This will be corrected on the AGM Agenda template.

Emma noted the financial report records a loss resulting from conference expenditure. This is not uncommon in a conference year and will be offset by conference income. Emma noted an increase in membership income over the previous financial year and some sponsorship income attached to the conference.

Resolution: That the Association's accounts for 2021-2022 as tabled by the Treasurer be accepted as a true and accurate record of the Association's financial position during and to the end of the financial year ending 30 June 2022.

Moved: Leigh Johns Seconded: Shae McCrystal

Carried



3. <u>Election of Officers and Ordinary Members of the National Committee of Management</u>

Dominique reported the following nominations were received for National Committee of Management Officer positions:

President Anthony Forsyth

Vice President Shae McCrystal

Secretary Dominique Allen

Treasurer Emma Goodwin

As the number of nominations for the above positions was equal to the number of vacancies, no ballot was necessary, and the above candidates were declared duly elected.

Anthony congratulated the 2023 Executive and thanked Shae, Dominique, and Emma for standing again in their positions.

12 nominations were received for National Committee **Ordinary Member** positions.

Larissa Andelman

David Chin SC

Nick Ellery

Gabrielle Golding

Tess Hardy

Adriana Orifici

Marilyn Pittard

Mark Rinaldi

Vince Rogers

Graham Smith

Janine Smith

Dianne Yali



As the number of nominations for the above positions did not exceed the number of vacancies, no ballot was necessary, and the above candidates were declared duly elected.

Dominique congratulated the 2023 Committee and acknowledged the contributions of outgoing members Daniel Crute and Stephanie Gheller.

Anthony thanked the 2022 committee for the work undertaken to organise this year's events and conference and expressed an enthusiasm for working together again in 2023. Anthony thanked Marilyn Pittard who served as President from 2018 to 2021 for her contribution across that term and during the pandemic, noting that Marilyn has been an active ALLA committee member since the Assocation's inception.

4. Other business

Marilyn Pittard expressed a special thanks to Janine Smith who has been ALLA's 'body on the ground' working closely with the Crowne Plaza and the conference organisers since 2019 to ensure everything ran smoothly. Marilyn also noted that Janine had negotiated with the Crowne Plaza to maintain the 2019 rates.

Anthony thanked everyone for attending.

The Chair declared the meeting closed at 2.58pm (AEDT).