Student Research Prizes and Awards

  • IRSV Student Essay Writing Competition

    The Industrial Relations Society of Victoria holds an annual Student Essay Competition open to both undergraduate and postgraduate students with an interest in industrial relations, including employment and labour relations law. The winners of the Competition are presented with a cash prize and also a one year membership to the Society.

    More information can be found here.

    More information about the prize can be found in the guidelines and registration form for the 2018 competition.

  • Marco Biagi Award

    To stimulate scholarly activity and broaden academic interest in comparative labour and employment law, the International Association of Labour Law Journals the annual Marco Biagi Award for papers by students and early career researchers concerning comparative and/or international law. The award is named in honor of the late Marco Biagi, a distinguished labour lawyer, victim of terrorism because of his commitment to civil rights, and one of the founders of the Association. The Call is addressed to doctoral students, advanced professional students, and academic researchers in the early stage of their careers (that is, with no more than three years of post-doctoral or teaching experience).

    The call for papers for the 2020 Marco Biagi Award can be found here.

  • Archive

    IRSV Student Essay Prize Winner 2011

    Congratulations to LLB Employment Law student Tom Dreyfus for winning the 2011 Industrial Relations Society Victoria Student Essay Competition. His paper will be published in Labour and Industry. Well done Tom!

    Australian Industrial Relations Commission Award 2010

    Caroline Kelly, an LLB student at the Melbourne Law School, was the winner of the Australian Industrial Relations Commission Award for 2010.

    The AIRC Award was established by members of the Australian Industrial Relations Commission to commemorate 100 years of federal conciliation and arbitration and to record their appreciation of the work of Professor Joe Isaac and Professor Stuart Macintyre as honorary editors of 'A New Province for Law of Order'. The award is funded through a trust established by members of the AIRC.