Fair Work Commission & the New Approaches Jurisdiction (May 2017)

Anna Booth, Deakin University, Anna Chapman, Centre for Employment and Labour Relations Law, Kim Parish, House with No Steps and Angus McFarland, Australian Services Union

CELRL Labour Law Seminar

Workplace Relations Education Series

Presented by Deputy President of the FairWork Commission Anna Booth, Panel discussion lead by Professor Anna Chapman

Monday, 22 May 2017: 5:30 - 7:00 PM

CELRL and FWC lecture 2017

About the event

This lecture will be delivered by Deputy President Anna Booth, on interest-based bargaining and the Commission’s New Approaches jurisdiction. The lecture will be followed by a panel discussion lead by Associate Professor Anna Chapman, featuring Ms Kim Parish, Executive General Manager at House with No Steps, and Mr Angus McFarland, Assistant Secretary at the ASU NSW & ACT (Services) Branch.

About the speaker

Anna Booth is a Deputy President of the Fair Work Commission. Prior to joining the Commission in 2012, Ms Booth was Executive Director at CoSolve Pty Ltd, a firm specialising in the provision of independent mediation, arbitration and facilitation services in Australia and New Zealand, and non- executive Chair of the Board at Slater & Gordon.

About the Panel

Anna Chapman is an Associate Professor in the Melbourne Law School and Co-Director of the Centre for Employment and Labour Relations Law (CELRL) at the University of Melbourne. Anna’s Research focus is on employment law, and she is a past Editor of the Australian Journal of Labour Law.

Kim Parish is the Executive General Manager for People, Learning & Culture at House with No Steps in New South Wales. Kim is a senior HR professional with expertise in developing HR strategy, leading learning & development and delivering business focused organisation change.

Angus McFarland is Assistant Secretary, Australian Services Union NSW & ACT (Services) Branch. Prior to being an Assistant Secretary he was a Senior Organiser in the Community and Disability Division of the ASU.