Statelessness & Citizenship Review

The Peter McMullin Centre on Statelessness and the Institute on Statelessness and Inclusion (ISI) established the Statelessness and Citizenship Review in 2019. This is the first journal to be entirely dedicated to advancing the understanding of statelessness and related citizenship phenomena and challenges, helping to meet the growing demand for the exchange of ideas and knowledge among scholars in the blossoming field of statelessness studies. The Editors-in-Chief are Prof. Michelle Foster (Peter McMullin Centre) and Dr. Laura van Waas (ISI).

The Statelessness and Citizenship Review is a peer-reviewed, open-access and interdisciplinary journal. Papers submitted to the journal will undergo independent and anonymous peer review, with an Editorial Board composed of renowned international scholars (see below). There are no fees for authors or readers, Creative Commons Attribution and authors retain Copyright of published articles. The journal is published on a bi-annual basis.

Articles should be 8,000 -10,000 words in length (incl. footnotes), though longer pieces of up to 12,000 words can also be accommodated. Articles should follow the OSCOLA citation system.

In addition to original, scholarly articles that have passed successfully through the peer review process, each issue of the Review will also contain a section of “Case Notes” that offers summaries and comment on significant jurisprudence from around the globe (edited by Dr. Katia Bianchini) and a section entitled “Critique & Comment” that will feature reflections by scholars or practitioners on emerging research, policy trends or other new developments (edited by Dr. Kristy Belton).

Scholars interested in submitting an article for consideration are encouraged to visit the website and to address any questions to

Production editor: Eliah Castiello, JD Candidate, Melbourne Law School, Comparative ASEAN Animal Law Library (Director)

The Statelessness & Citizenship Review team is currently seeking Volunteer Copy-Editors. Read more about this opportunity here.

Editorial Board

  • Dr Edwin Abuya, Associate Professor at the School of Law, University of Nairobi (Kenya)
  • Dr Seth Anziska, Mohamed S. Farsi-Polosnky Lecturer in Jewish-Muslim Relations, University College London (UK)
  • Professor Osamu Arakaki, Ph.D., Professor of International Law at International Christian University (Japan)
  • Mr Fateh Azzam, Human Rights Consultant; Executive member, Boston Consortium for Arab Region Studies (USA)
  • Professor Matthew J. Gibney, Professor of Politics and Forced Migration, Refugee Studies Centre, University of Oxford (UK)
  • Professor Penny Green, Professor of Law and   Globalisation, and Director of the International State Crime Initiative, Queen Mary University of London (UK)
  • Professor Dr. Gerard-RenĂ© de Groot, Emeritus Professor of comparative law and private international law, Maastricht University (Netherlands); Professor of Private Law, University of Aruba (West Indies)
  • Professor Linda Kerber, May Brodbeck Professor in the Liberal Arts and Professor of History, Emerita, University of Iowa (USA)
  • Professor Audrey Macklin, Director of the Centre for Criminology and Sociolegal Studies and Professor and Chair in Human Rights, University of Toronto (Canada)
  • Dr Bronwen Manby, Visiting Senior Fellow, Centre for the Study of Human Rights, London School of Economics (UK)
  • Dr Parivelan K.M., Associate Professor & Chairperson, Nodal Centre of Excellence for Human rights Education & Centre for Statelessness and Refugee Studies, School of Law, Rights and Constitutional Governance, Tata Institute of Social Sciences (India)
  • Dr Nando Sigona, Senior Lecturer & Birmingham Fellow and Deputy Director, Institute for Research into Superdiversity, University of Birmingham (UK)
  • Professor Julia Sloth-Nielson, Professor, Department of Public Law and Jurisprudence, University of the Western Cape (South Africa) and Professor of Children's Rights in the Developing World, University of Leiden (Netherlands)
  • Professor Kim Rubenstein, Professor of Law and Public Policy Fellow, Australian National University (Australia)
  • Professor Peter Spiro, Charles Weiner Professor of Law, Temple University Law School (USA)

Managing Editors

  • Ms Jade Roberts, Graduate Researcher, Peter McMullin Centre on Statelessness, Melbourne Law School (Australia)
  • Ms Maria Jose Recalde Vela, PhD Researcher, Tilburg Law School and Programme Officer (volunteer), Institute on Statelessness and Inclusion (Netherlands)