Advisory Board

Advisory Board members

  • Clinton Benjamin (Bardi, Yawuru, and Kija), National Native Title Council
  • Professor John Borrows (Chippewa), University of Victoria Faculty of Law, British Columbia
  • Keshi Moore, LSS Indigenous Student Representative
  • Nathan Newcastle, LSS Indigenous Liaison Officer
  • Tim Goodwin (Yuin), Barrister
  • Tony McEvoy (Wirdi), Barrister
  • Sana Nakata (Torres Strait), Faculty of Arts
  • Professor Pip Nicholson, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (People and Community) and Deputy Provost
  • Elly Patira (Gunai and Ngapuhi), Department of Premier and Cabinet (Victoria)
  • Karri Walker (Nyiyparli), First Peoples' Assembly of Victoria

Terms of Reference

The role of the Advisory Council for the Indigenous Law and Justice Hub involves:

  1. Providing general strategic advice to the Hub and its staff
  2. Assisting in driving the direction of the Hub’s activities, relevant to critical Indigenous legal issues and community requirements.
  3. Facilitating broadening the Hub’s reach of influence and opportunities for further resourcing including through community organisations, industry, research organisations and the philanthropic sector.
  4. Advocating for the Centre’s activities with government and community organisations.