Foundation Board

The Foundation was established in 1984 for the encouragement and promotion of excellence in education, study, teaching and research in the faculty of Law, now known as Melbourne Law School.

As someone who was fortunate enough to attend Melbourne Law School with Government support, I believe that those who wish to study law and meet the Law School's high standards should have an opportunity to do so. Our contributions can ensure not only that the Law School continues to attract the best students and faculty but also help to encourage the ancillary benefits of promotion of the rule of law in the region, certainty and good practice in commerce and the vigorous and high-quality debate that a world-class legal education can facilitate.

Mary Padbury, Vice Chairman, Ashurst

A host of distinguished alumni have demonstrated their commitment to the Law School by joining the Foundation Board.


Professor Carolyn M Evans (BA 1993, LLB(Hons) 1993)


Professor Caron Y Beaton-Wells (BA 1993, LLB(Hons) 1993, LLM 1997, PhD Law 2002)

Dr Matthew J Collins QC (PhD Law 2000)

Mr William P Gurry AO (LLB 1972)

Ms Diana P Nicholson (BA 1983, LLB(Hons) 1984)

Ms Mary L Padbury (BA 1980, LLB(Hons) 1980)

Ms Sophie Wade (BA 2011, JD 2015)

Ms Catherine M Walter AM (LLB(Hons) 1973, LLM 1976, MBA 1988)

Mr Neil J Young QC (LLB(Hons) 1974)

Mr Leon Zwier (LLB 1979)

Executive Officer

Ms Kate M Barnett (BA 1995, DipML(Chin) 1998, LLB(Hons) 1999)