Professor Anne Orford

  • Professor Anne Orford

Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor
Michael D Kirby Professor of International Law
ARC Kathleen Fitzpatrick Laureate Fellow

+61 3 83446200 | | Room 0835



Anne Orford is Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor, Michael D Kirby Chair of International Law, and an Australian Laureate Fellow at Melbourne Law School, where she directs the Laureate Program in International Law. She is an elected Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia, and a past President of the Australian and New Zealand Society of International Law. Her work has been recognised by the award of the Kathleen Fitzpatrick Australian Laureate Fellowship by the Australian Research Council (2015-20), a Future Fellowship awarded by the Australian Research Council (2012-15), an Australian Professorial Fellowship awarded by the Australian Research Council (2007-2011), the Woodward Medal for Excellence in Humanities and Social Sciences awarded by the University of Melbourne, and honorary doctorates of laws awarded by Lund University, the University of Gothenburg, and the University of Helsinki. She has held numerous visiting positions globally, including as Raoul Wallenberg Visiting Chair at Lund University, Hedda Andersson Visiting Research Chair in History at Lund University, Visiting Professor at University Paris 1 (Panthéon-Sorbonne), Torgny Segerstedt Visiting Professor at the University of Gothenburg, Senior Emile Noël Research Fellow at New York University, and most recently Visiting Professor and John Harvey Gregory Lecturer on World Organization at Harvard Law School.

Her scholarship combines study of the history, theory, and practice of international law, and an engagement with debates in history, social theory, economics, and philosophy, in order to grasp the changing role of international law and its relation to social, political, and economic transformations. Her publications include International Authority and the Responsibility to Protect (Cambridge University Press, 2011), Reading Humanitarian Intervention (Cambridge University Press, 2003), the edited collection International Law and its Others (Cambridge University Press, 2006), and, as co-editor, The Oxford Handbook of the Theory of International Law (Oxford University Press, 2016). A collection of her essays in French translation, entitled Pensée Critique et Droit International, is forthcoming with Pedone. Her latest book, International Law and the Politics of History, will be published by Cambridge University Press in early 2020.

Professor Orford will deliver the 2019 Sir Elihu Lauterpacht International Law Lecture on The Crisis of Liberal Internationalism and the Future of International Law at the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade in November 2019, the Fifth TM Asser Annual Lecture on International Law and the Social Question at the Peace Palace in the Hague in November 2019, and the Dietrich Schindler Lecture in International Law at the University of Zurich in March 2020. She has presented keynote and plenary addresses at annual conferences of the American Society of International Law, the Australian Historical Association, the Australian and New Zealand Society of International Law, the European Society of International Law, the French Society of International Law, the Korean Society of International Law, and the Law and Society Association, and presented her research by invitation to governments, international organizations, nongovernmental organizations, and university audiences in Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Colombia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

She was a founding co-convenor, with Dino Kritsiotis and Joseph Weiler, of the Annual Junior Faculty Forum for International Law, and founding Director of the Institute for International Law and the Humanities at Melbourne Law School.

View Laureate Program in International Law