Alumni achievements

Melbourne Law School would like to congratulate the following alumni on their appointments, honours and awards (as at 11 September 2017):

Queen's Birthday honours

Mr Bernard W Balmer OAM   (LLB 1982)

Mr Brian J Bourke AM             (LLB 1957)

Mr Peter M Butler AM RFD    (LLB 1975)

Mr Michael H Coppel AM       (LLB(Hons) 1973, BCom 1974)

Mr Ronald S Finkel AM          (LLB (1972), BCom 1973)

Mrs Helen Gibson AM             (LLB(Hons) 1972)

Mr Paul C Hoy AM                  (LLB 1965)

Dr Gordon L Hughes AM        (LLB(Hons) 1972, LLM 1973)

The Hon Joseph V Kay AM    (LLB 1967)

Mr Julian P McMahon AC      (BA(Hons) 1987, LLB 1990)

Ms Fiona J Smith AM             (BA 1978, LLB 1980, GdipDisRes 1996)

Mrs Janet M Torney OAM      (LLB 1959)

Ms Gabrielle M Trainor AO    (LLB 1977)

Judicial appointments

County Court of Victoria

Her Honour Judge Aileen M Ryan     (BA 1979, LLB 1979)

His Honour Judge Edward W Woodward      (LLB 1982)

Magistrates Court of Victoria

Her Honour Magistrate Abigail Burchill          (BA 1994, LLB(Hons) 1994)

Her Honour Magistrate Jacinta M Dwyer       (BA 1991, LLB 1991)

Magistrates Court of Queensland

His Honour Magistrate Mark G Howden        (BCom 1985, LLB 1985)

This article originally appeared in MLS News, Issue 18, November 2017.