Alumni achievements

Melbourne Law School would like to congratulate the following alumni on their appointments, honours and awards (as of 24 April 2018):

Australia Day Honours

Mr David L Bardas AO (LLB 1962)

The Hon Justice Victoria J Bennett AO (LLB 1983)

Mr Ian M Dunn AM (LLM 1983, LLB 1966)

Mr Peter J Gordon AM (LLB 1979)

His Honour Chester S Keon-Cohen AM (LLB 1965)

Mr Michael Lipshutz OAM (LLB  1974)

The Hon Howard T Nathan AM QC (LLB 1960)

Mr Hayden D Opie AM (BCom 1976, LLB(Hons) 1976)

Mr Ian L Robertson AO (LLB 1979, BCom 1979)

Colonel Penelope A Saultry CSC (LLB 1990)

The Hon Thomas H Smith AM QC (BA 1963, LLB(Hons) 1963)

Mr Andris Spilva OAM (LLB 1969)

Ms Gabrielle M Trainor AO (LLB 1977)

Judicial appointments

Federal Court of Australia

The Hon Justice Simon Steward (LLB(Hons) 1990, LLM  2000)

Federal Circuit Court & Family Court of Australia

His Honour Chief Judge William E Alstergren (LLB 1990, LLM 2010)

Federal Circuit Court of Australia

Her Honour Judge Caroline E Kirton (BA(Hons) 1983, LLB 1986)

Supreme Court of Victoria

The Hon Justice John R Champion (LLB 1973, GDipArts(Crim) 1974, GDipCorp&SecLaw 1994)

The Hon Justice Matthew N Connock (LLM 1996)

The Hon Justice Michelle L Quigley (LLB  1984)

The Hon Justice Melinda Richards (BA 1990, LLB(Hons) 1991)

County Court of Victoria

Her Honour Judge Julie Condon (BA 1992, LLB(Hons) 1992)

This article originally appeared in MLS News, Issue 19, May 2018.