Melbourne Law School would like to congratulate the following alumni on their appointments, honours and awards (as at 4 October 2019):

Queen's Birthday Honours

The Hon Justice Paul A Coghlan AO (LLB ’68)

Mr Trevor S Cohen AM (LLB ’60)

Dr Matthew J Collins AM QC (PhD ’00)

Mr Jamie M Gardiner OAM (LLB(Hons) ’92)

Mr Paul A Hameister OAM (LLB ’92)

Mr Peter B Hardham OAM (LLB ’65)

Mr Richard A Leder OAM (GDipCommLaw ’93)

Mr Bruce Levet OAM (LLM ’10)

Ms Alison P O’Brien PSM (LLB(Hons) ’95)

Mr James W Peters AM QC (LLB ’83)

Professor Greg Reinhardt AM (LLB(Hons) ’76)

Mr Michael W Shand AM QC (LLB(Hons) ’75, LLM ’83)

Mr Jon J Webster AM (LLB(Hons) ’75, LLM ’80)

Judicial appointments

Supreme Court of Victoria

The Hon Justice Jacinta Forbes QC (LLB ’88)

County Court of Victoria

Her Honour Judge Rosemary Carlin (LLB ’83)

Magistrates Court of Victoria

Her Honour Magistrate Suzette Dootjes (LLB ’81)

Student awards

Audrey Packer Cook has won the 2019 National Indigenous Law Student of the Year Award. Presented by the Attorney General’s Office in Darwin, the award recognised Audrey’s academic achievements, as well as her contributions to improved justice outcomes in her community.

Matthew Psycharis has been awarded the Cambridge Australia Caius Scholarship for 2019. Matthew studied the Melbourne  JD in 2016, and will now complete his PhD in law at the University of Cambridge. Matthew is also supported by a W.M. Tapp Scholarship.