ALLA 8th Biennial Conference, Melbourne 2016

The Eighth Biennial National Conference

The Australian Labour Law Association (ALLA) held its Eighth Biennial National Conference, at the Novotel Hotel, 16 the Esplanade, St Kilda, Melbourne on Friday 4 and Saturday 5 November 2016.

The Conference theme was Regulation of work and workplaces: reform and innovation

Keynote Speakers

Mr Peter Harris AO
Productivity Commission

Professor Gillian Triggs
Australian Human Rights Commission

Ms Natalie James
The Fair Work Ombudsman

Ms Janine Webster
Chief Counsel
The Fair Work Ombudsman

The Hon Justice Christopher Jessup
Federal Court of Australia

The Hon Jennifer Acton
Former President, Road Safety Remuneration Tribunal Senior Deputy President, Fair Work Commission


*Technology and labour law

*The future of unions *Internationalisation of work

*Future labour law regulation

*The evolving contract of employment

*Health and safety at work

* Regulatory compliance

*Individual rights at work

*Diversity and the regulation of work *Bargaining and Industrial action

*Privacy at work

*Superannuation, taxation and work benefits

*Workplace investigations

ALLA Research Degree Scholarships

This scholarship was open to students enrolled in a research degree (such as a PhD or LLM by thesis, or similar) in an Australian or New Zealand University. The objective of the scholarship was to provide financial assistance for one or more students to take part in the national ALLA conference, and to present a paper at the conference.ALLA paid the conference registration fees for the successful scholarship applicant or applicants, andfor those not living in the city of the ALLA conference, a contribution towards airfares and/or accommodation was offered, at the discretion of the ALLA National Executive, or its delegate.

Scholarships were decided by the ALLA National Executive, or its delegate.

ALLA Conference Committee
Professor Marilyn Pittard, Monash University
Dr Graham Smith, Clayton Utz
Dr Victoria Lambropoulos, Deakin University
Ms Emma Goodwin, Office of the Fair Work Ombudsman

ALLA Conference Secretariat
Marg Scarlett & Helen McLean

Conference Organising Group