Professor Adrienne Stone awarded ARC Laureate Fellowship

Professor Adrienne Stone was honoured in May with the Australian Research Council’s (ARC) Kathleen Fitzpatrick Laureate Fellowship for her work into liberal democracies, and how constitutions can both unify and encourage diversity in modern society. Professor Stone joins her MLS colleague Professor Anne Orford as a recipient of this prestigious award.

Professor Stone has held a Chair at Melbourne Law School since 2007 where she is also the Director of the Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies. She is First Vice-President of the International Association of Constitutional Law; Vice-President of the Australian Association of Constitutional Law and is an elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Law. With Laureate Professor Emeritus Cheryl Saunders AO she is editor of the forthcoming Oxford Handbook on the Australian Constitution. In 2015, she was a member of the Advisory Committee for the Australian Law Reform Commission’s Inquiry on Traditional Rights and Freedoms.

I am delighted that Adrienne Stone has been recognised for national excellence and research leadership. This is a wonderful achievement for Adrienne and a great outcome for MLS with two Laureate Professors in a row after Anne Orford’s win last year. I am very proud of the work of my colleagues.

The Kathleen Fitzpatrick Fellowship is awarded to one outstanding female Laureate recipient in the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences disciplines, and includes an ambassadorial role to promote women in research.

This article originally appeared in MLS News, Issue 15, June 2016.