Malcolm DH Smith Memorial Scholarship

Professor Malcolm Smith

The Malcolm DH Smith Memorial Scholarship was launched in 2010 in tribute to Professor Smith, a leading international figure in Asian legal studies and the Founding Director of the Asian Law Centre at the University of Melbourne. This scholarship was initiated by members of the Asian Law Centre, with the support of Dr Rosalynd Smith, widow of Professor Smith.

The scholarship is designed to assist first-year Melbourne JD students who have completed an undergraduate law degree or a degree majoring in Asian studies at a tertiary institution in Australia or Asia.

Professor Smith [LLB (Hons) 1968, LLM 1972] is remembered for his exceptional contribution to Asian legal studies. He joined the Law School in 1987 as Foundation Professor of Asian Law, and was Associate Dean of the Faculty of Law in 1990-91 and 1997-99. In 2004 he was appointed a full-time professor of law at Chuo University in Tokyo, the first Australian to hold such a position.

Melbourne Law School expresses sincere appreciation to Dr Rosalynd Smith, and the many friends and colleagues of Professor Smith who have generously donated to the scholarship.


Recipients of the Malcolm DH Smith Memorial Scholarship include:

  • 2021 – Mr Xuwen Dong
  • 2020 – Ms Momo Ueda
  • 2019 – Mr Jeremy Waite
  • 2018 – Ms Claritta Lee
  • 2017 – Ms Didi Hu
  • 2016 – Ms Weite Li
  • 2015 – Ms Alexandra Haydock
  • 2014 – Ms Hannah Ekers
  • 2013 – Mr Raoul Renard
  • 2012 (retrospective) – Mr Rory Hudson


Donations to the Malcolm DH Smith Memorial Scholarship fund would be gratefully received at any time. Gifts over $2 are tax-deductible.

Donate to Scholarship

Application Details

Application details