Grants and Awards

Grants and Awards


Professor Jacqueline Peel and A/Prof benjamin Neville with Professor Hari Osofsky Prof Hari Osofsky (Dean, Northwestern University), Dr Lisa Benjamin (Lewis & Clark Law School) and Ms Rebekkah Markey-Towler, ARC Discovery Project, Advancing Investor Action on Energy Transition.


Professor Margaret Young awarded Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences of Australia

Dr Brad Jessup awarded Early Career Researchers Grant from University of Melbourne

Dr Brad Jessup awarded Best PhD from Australian Legal Research Award


Professor Christine Parker awarded Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences of Australia

Associate Professor Rebecca Nelson awarded the Federal Scholar in Residence Award, Eurac Research Institute for Comparative Federalism (Italy)


American Society of International Law awarded the  Certificate of Merit in a Specialised area of International Law to the publication by Maureen F. Tehan, Lee C. Godden, Margaret A. Young, and Kirsty A. Gover, The Impact of Climate Change Mitigation on Indigenous and Forest Communities (Cambridge University Press)

Professor Sundhya Pahuja awarded Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

Professor Lee Godden, Professor Margaret Davies (Flinders University) and Associate Professor Nicole Graham (Sydney Law School), were awarded ARC Discovery Grant, Property as Habitat: reintegrating Place, People and Law

Professor Lee Godden, Professor Christine Parker, Professor Fiona Haines (Criminology UoM), Professor Jacqueline Peel, Associate Professor Margaret Young, Dr Rebecca Nelson, Dr Anita Foerster (Monash Sustainability) were awarded seed funding from Melbourne Sustainable Society Institute (MSSI) on Legal Dimension of Climate Change


Professor Jacqueline Peel, Professor Hari Osofsky and Dr Brett McDonnell, ARC Discovery Projects, Devising a Legal Blueprint for Corporate Energy Transition

Professor Christine Parker and Dr Gyorgy Scrinis, ARC Discovery Projects, Regulating Food Labels: The Case of Free Range Food Products in Australia

Professor Jacqueline Peel and Professor Hari Osofsky, ARC Discovery Projects, Transition to a Clean Energy Future: The Role of Climate Change Litigation in Shaping our Regulatory Path

Mark McMillan, Joanna Cruickshank, Ann Genovese, Shaun McVeigh and Julie Evans (administered by RMIT), ARC Discovery Indigenous, Indigenous leaders: lawful relations from encounter to treaty

Professor Kirsty Gover, Associate Professor Ulf Morkenstam, Professor Ludvig beckham, Associate Professor Sofia Nasstrom,  Swedish Research Council, Who are ‘We, the People’? A study of national and indigenous peoples’ constitutions

Professor Jacqueline Peel and Professor Hari Osofsky awarded the 2018 Morrison Prize for their academic article, Energy Partisanship


Professor Hilary Charlesworth and Associate Professor Margaret Young was awarded Discovery Project grant, The Potential and limits of international adjudication.

Dr Rebecca Nelson was awarded a Discovery Early Career Researcher Award for 'Regulating cumulative environmental effects: designing global best practise.


Associate Professor Margaret Young was awarded the Woodward Medal, celebrating outstanding research, for her book for her book Trading Fish, Saving Fish: The Interaction between Regimes in International Law (Cambridge University Press, 2011).

Professor Lee Godden and Erin O’Donnell were awarded a Workshop Grant by the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia with Avril Horne (Engineering) and Brian Head (UQ) for Going beyond the crisis response: building trust and maintaining legitimacy for all stakeholders in environmental flows and water governance.

Dr Rebecca Nelson was awarded a University of Melbourne Early Career Researcher grant for 'Regulating cumulative environmental effects: balancing protection and efficiency through law'.

Professor Christine Parker was awarded a Melbourne Law School Research Grant Seed Funds (Linkage) with Tania Voon, Andrew Mitchell and Paula O’Brien for 'Regulating food and alcohol in the interests of public health: Navigating domestic and international frameworks of law and governance'.

Dr Olivia Barr was awarded the Melbourne Law SChool Indigenous Research Grant for 'Aboriginal country is in the city too': Restoring public Aboriginal law through public art'.

Dr Kathleen Birrell commenced her University of Melbourne McKenzie Postdoctoral Fellowship in 2016.