Communications Law

The specialisation in communications law provides students with an advanced understanding of the existing and developing laws affecting the media and communication industries and their impact on the publication of information, ownership, services and technology.

Attuned to the rapid and evolving development of communications technologies, this course provides a valuable insight into this vibrant area of law. Melbourne Law School has a high level of expertise in communications law, as well as a dedicated research centre, the Centre for Media and Communications Law, which is a useful resource for students.

Media and communication technologies are rapidly evolving, with new media players having increasing control over the selection of content that media consumers receive. This course is taught by leading specialists at the forefront of the media and communications industries and provides students with the tools necessary to navigate the novel situations and unforeseen challenges that now emerge almost daily in the media and communications landscape.

Communications Law study options

Centre for Media and Communications Law

The Centre is for the research, discussion and teaching of all aspects of media and communications law and policy.

Find out more

Advisory Board

  • The Hon Michael Lloyd-Jones, Formerly Federal Circuit Court (Chair)
  • Elizabeth Beal, Network Ten
  • Bruce Burke, Banki Haddock Fiora
  • Warren Coatsworth, Seven Network Limited
  • Julie Eisenberg, SBS
  • Jon Faine, ABC Radio
  • Stuart Gibson, Mills Oakley Lawyers
  • Jonathan Gill, Carrick Gill Smyth
  • Gail Hambly, John Fairfax Holdings Ltd
  • Jim Holmes, Incyte Consulting
  • Paul Kallenbach, Minter Ellison
  • Richard Leder, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
  • Peter Leonard, Data Synergies
  • Cheng Lim, King & Wood Mallesons
  • Denis Muller, Centre for Public Policy, University of Melbourne
  • Hugh Northam, Septimus Jones & Lee
  • Michael Pattison, Allens
  • Nic Pullen, HWL Ebsworth Lawyers
  • Michael Rivette, Chancery Chambers
  • Greg Sitch, Macleay William
  • Andrew Stewart, Baker & McKenzie
  • Robert Todd, Ashurst Australia