Employment and Labour Relations Law

The extensive range of employment and labour relations law subjects engages with up-to-the-minute developments and cutting edge-thinking in Australia and internationally.

Major shifts in laws governing the workplace and labour force in Australia mean that understanding the regulatory framework pertaining to employment and labour relations practices is more important than ever. Employment and labour relations law is ideal for legal practitioners, the public sector, corporate management and human resources/personnel services, trade unions and employer groups. This specialisation caters for legal practitioners as well as non-lawyers with experience and interest in the legal regulation of employment and labour relations. In-depth analysis of recent developments in this complex and evolving area ensures the program remains at the forefront of legal knowledge in this field. The subject Principles of Employment Law is designed to be of particular assistance to students without previous (or recent) legal study in the area.

I have thoroughly enjoyed studying the Employment and Labour Relations Law subjects. They have opened doors for me into new worlds of intellectual exploration and challenge. I have also appreciated the highly practical utility of the specialisation. It has been invaluable to my work as a barrister. Natalie Blok, Masters of Public and International Law

Employment and Labour Relations Law study options

Advisory Board

  • The Hon Justice Anthony North, Federal Court of Australia (Chair)
  • Ms Carol Andrades, Ryan Carlisle Thomas
  • Mr Glen Bartlett, Bartlett Workplace
  • Mr Josh Bornstein, Maurice Blackburn
  • The Hon Alan Boulton AO, Formerly of the Fair Work Commission
  • Mr Richard Bunting, Ashurst
  • Mr Trevor Clarke, Australian Council of Trade Unions
  • Mr Mark Diserio, Lander & Rogers
  • The Hon Peter Gray, Formerly of the Federal Court of Australia
  • The Hon Associate Justice Mary-Jane Ierodiaconou, Supreme Court of Victoria
  • Mr Ross Jackson, Maddocks
  • Ms Natalie James, Fair Work Ombudsman
  • Mr Murray Kellock, King & Wood Mallesons
  • Commissioner Tim Lee, Fair Work Commission
  • Mr Leon Levine, Minter Ellison
  • Mr Peter Lupson, K & L Gates
  • Ms Frances O'Brien QC, Victorian Bar
  • Mr Charles Power, Holding Redlich
  • Ms Sarah Rey, Justitia
  • Ms Penny Savidis, Ryan Carlisle Thomas
  • Mr James Simpson, Arnold Bloch Leibler
  • Mr Michael Tamvakologos, Seyfarth Shaw
  • Mr John Tuck, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
  • Mr Tony Wood, Herbert Smith Freehills