MLS Prize Celebration 2017

Melbourne Law School students and recent graduates were recognised at the MLS Prize celebration on Monday evening.


A total of 84 students from the JD, Masters and undergraduate programs received awards at a reception held at the Woodward Conference Centre.  

Dean Professor Carolyn Evans hosted the cocktail event, where recipients networked with prize sponsors and the event’s special guest, the Honourable Justice Robert Orsborn.    

Justice Osborn, an MLS alumnus, spoke to the students about his time studying at the Law School in the 1970s. He said that the times in which today’s students find themselves are no less turbulent than when he studied four decades ago.

Justice Osborn introduced Lauren Gasparini, winner of the 2017 Supreme Court Prize, who addressed her fellow prize winners.

Evans Gasparini Osborn

Dean Professor Carolyn Evans, Supreme Court Prize winner Lauren Gasparini and the Honourable Justice Robert Osborn.

“Being a recipient of a Melbourne law school prize or scholarship is truly an extraordinary achievement,” she said.

“Being here tonight is a marker not only of great intellect but also of your determination, hard work and your passion for the law.”

Ms Gasparini credited her success in the JD and that of her peers to the wider MLS community.

“Identities are shaped here within these classrooms; lifelong friendships are forged and grand plans for our futures are imagined.”

“Mostly, we are inspired by the talent of the faculty, excited by the prospect of intellectual rigour and motivated by the myriad of challenges presented to us.”

Dean Carolyn Evans closed the event by thanking the sponsors, without whom she said the awards would not be possible.

See here for the full list of prize winners.